top of page

Time to move into drive


End of Summer Fit Blast

Well it is just two months out from my birthday and I am finishing July with a latex related allergy. So I decided to bite the bullet and grabbed the discounted pricing on Joel's newest lift program, and am ready to commit. I loved his Les Mills lift workouts, and after trying the sample workout, I was sold. But to get healthy, it means I also need to be aware of how my emotions through this lunar eclipse and into the retrograde impact my emotions, and how coming up on the next big birthday may make me feel. I have a lot of interesting points of view about my age that I am working with. You may have already come to terms with the fact that you are an emotional eater, I have, but not always in awareness of what's going on. You may have also tried ways to stop it and, for whatever reason, had very little luck. One way that you can help your emotional eating from becoming a huge stress in your life, or from becoming a major weight gain issue, is to choose healthier foods. Here are a few ways to choose healthier foods and have them ready when your emotional eating kicks in.

There are several eat this not that style books on the market. Take a chance on a few and look for replacements for things like ice cream, cookies, cake, and pastas. These are the foods that are increasingly common during emotional eating sessions and can have the most negative effect on your overall weight. By finding replacements, like coconut yogurt for ice cream, you may still be having the emotional eating session but your food will be healthier. I love The Real Coconut tortillas and tortilla chips, as well, and I am always using a green smoothie with my my meal replacement in it as a good healthy choice. Right now my favorite treat is actually a salad. Watermelon, Strawberries, Blueberries. Fresh Basil, Organic EVOO and fresh squeezed Lime juice... that's it! Cut it up, add some veggie cheese if you desire and it will be the freshest dinner on a very hot day.

A lot of us will go through books, make notes, and look at replacement foods all day. However if you don't make the actual change to the diet, then those replacement options are worthless. Instead of just doing the research, make sure you replace the food. Do a purge of your kitchen and food stash. Get rid of the cookies, candies, cakes, pastas, ice creams, and other foods. Get rid of processed foods that can have an abundance of sodium or sugars. Once you have purged your pantry, replace the items with the options you found. Now, your pantry is stocked and you can only go for the foods that are there. If the bad foods are gone, you are only left with the better choices.

One of the ways to choose healthier foods as an emotional eater is to look for busy foods. These are the foods that are healthy, but require more time to chew and digest than others. They usually are also the same foods that fill you up faster as well. For example, carrot sticks are an item that is a busy food, and give you a little sweet. Also a great lower histamine food to help you keep the inflammatory stuff down. You can't just take two bites and two chews and swallow them. You really have to chew up and take your time with something like carrots or other hard vegetables. They fill you up decently well, offer natural fiber, and are good for your digestive system. By choosing these foods you will eat less, eat better, clean your system, and help with weight gain.These are only three of the options to finding healthier foods for your emotional eating issues. However, by putting these three steps into action you can effectively reduce the amount of food you consume during an emotional eating binge as well as increase the overall healthy aspects of those foods and their toll on your body. I am starting this new program on August 6th. That will give me just enough time to hit some goals before my birthday in October. You should join me.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

My Journey of Discovery
and Weight Loss

At 38, dealing with major post partum depression, I decided it was time to change my lifestyle. This meant taking control of my life and making important decisions...

What's Hot
Get The Latest
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page